Our Cars

The legacy we have left behind

Evo 4.0


- Awarded Formula Student Award worth 3000 GBP by Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) out of 52 teams internationally
- First Indian team to implement an Aluminium Honeycomb Monocoque chassis for weight reduction and greatly improved rigidity
- High power Brushless DC Motors with Regenerative Braking were implemented to achieve 0-60 kmph in 2.18 sec
- Carbon Fibre Underbody Diffuser developed using Full Car CFD simulations to provide more than 10 Kgs of downforce at the average speed for improved traction
- Hybrid Planetary gearbox developed to achieve a higher gear ratio with 40% reduction in weight and smaller packaging
- Custom Battery Management System (BMS) developed in-house to provide voltage monitoring, logging and temperature measurement for a 403.2 V, 6.66 kWh battery pack

The Team

Faculty Advisors - Prof.Ramesh Singh, Prof.Arindrajit Chowdhury
Team Captain and Chief Organisational Officer - Pratyush Nalla
Mechanical Subsystem
Chief Mechanical Officer - Amit Sarkar
Chassis Head - Teja Maruvada, Milan Agnani
Powertrain Head - Soovadeep Bakshi
Vehicle Dynamics Head - Mani Sankar Namaduri
Chassis Design Engineers - Meet Patel, Divyanshu Sharma, Shreyans Tejawat, Parvezsh Ahamad, Piyush Pimparkar, Vikas Garg
Powertrain Design Engineers - Nilesh S Bansod, Gagan Makhija, Manthan Mahajan, Bhoumik Shah, Deepak Miglani
Vehicle Dynamics Design Engineers - Prahlad Kumar, Alan John, Vaibhav Ojha, Chinmayee Panigrahi, Ajinkya Shirish Bhagat, Parth Pandya
Electrical Subsystem
Chief Electrical / Safety Officer - Dharmendra Maurya
Electrical Powertrain Head - Sundaram Prasad
Electronics Head - Urvesh Patil
Research & Development Head - Parveen Dhillon
Electrical Powertrain Design Engineers - Rushabh Kapasi, Utkarsh Sharma, Shardul Jade, Chinmay Bhagat, Abhishek Vishwa
Electronics Design Engineers - Jainesh Doshi, Shashank Gangrade
R&D Design Engineers - Himank Ajmera, Siddhesh Wani
Organization team
Chief Organisational Officer - Pratyush Nalla
Marketing Manager - Aakash Patel, Atishay jain
Operations Manager - Esli Kumar Adiandhra, Abhishek Thote
Creatives - Chaitanya Deep

Car Specifications

Weight300 kg
Wheel bias(Rear %)7%
Wheel base61 inch
Trackwidth front48 inch
Trackwidth rear51 inch
Drag coefficient0.7
Front area0.75
Max motor torque (each)80
Max motor RPM (each)10,000
Peak/Nominal motor power (each)42/20kW
Final drive ratio7.85
Number of cells300
Cell configuration3P96S
Max/Nominal Voltage420/370V
Max/Cont. discharge current936/468 A
Max. charge current12.5 A
Available energy6.6KWh
Average endurance battery current150 A
Max. lateral acceleration1.7
Max. braking deceleration14.58
Max. longitudinal acceleration1.04
Time: 0-60 km/hr1.88
Time: Top speed4.4 sec
Top speed110.9
Time: 0-75m4.29

© Web and Creatives team | IIT Bombay Racing 2017